5 Tastes of India: A blog that talks about the tastes of indian cuisine.

You are currently viewing 5 Tastes of India: A blog that talks about the tastes of indian cuisine.

This is a blog about the tastes of indian cuisine. It is also a blog about the different tastes that are available in indian cuisine. These include sweet, sour, salty, bitter and hot. Today, these five tastes are considered to be most basic tastes based on which all other tastes are derived. However, they were unknown in ancient times and hence there was no classification of the taste.

Tastes have been classified since very long in India. It is believed that Indian knowledge in this regard goes back to at least 5000 years when Aryans settled down here and began consuming food items locally available. Later, as foreign invaders came to India and introduced new food items, it became necessary to classify them along with the ones already existing.

Tastes of Indian food items vary from region to region depending upon the availability of ingredients. Traditionally they are classified into six basic tastes which are Sweet, Sour, Salty, Bitter, Pungent (or Spicy) and Astringent (or tart). The last two taste i.e., Astringent and pungent are considered together because they have similar effects on human body due to which both have been included under one category – “Pungent” or “Spicy”.


Indian cuisine is full of taste. It’s not just about heat. It’s also about combinations and textures, character, and presentation.

The 5 Tastes of Indian cuisine are:

Tamarind, a tangy-sweet taste that is often described as sour; Mirchi or Chilli, pungent heat caused by capsaicin; Makhana or Ash Gourd, a sweet, buttery taste; Kaala Masala or Black Salt, a salty taste with a hint of bitterness; and finally the sweet tastes Pudina, mint leaves which have a cool and refreshing taste.

Tastes vary from region to region in India. The best example is the spice mix known as Garam Masala . With all its different flavours it can be very confusing. The basic ingredients to Garam Masala are cinnamon, cloves, green cardamom (elaichi), black pepper and nutmeg. However every family adds their own special blend of spices according to their liking. Some families add ginger or bay leaf and others add coriander seeds or mace seeds to their Garam Masala.

Indian cooking is known to the world for its complex and flavorful spice blends. In this article, we will discuss the five flavors that are most often found in Indian cuisine.

The five flavors of India are:

1. Sweet (Madhura Rasa)

2. Sour (Amla Rasa)

3. Salty (Lavan Rasa)

4. Hot (Teja Rasa)

5. Bitter (Kashaya Rasa)

The following recipes will give you some ideas on how to include these flavors in your everyday cooking.

The food that we eat can be a very interesting thing to know. It is a great way to get to know the culture of a place and the different tastes that people around the world have. India is one country that has a lot of different types of food and flavors that come with it.

In this blog, you will be able to learn about the culture just by trying out some recipes from this region. Find out what they taste like and how they taste different from others in other places around the world. This could be one way to find out more about India and its delicious foods and spices.

This blog is written to help you add the incredible flavors of indian spices to your everyday cooking. These delicious spices are not just for Indian food, they can be used with chicken, fish, lamb and even vegetables.

Today’s Indian food lovers have a wide variety of recipes to choose from and most of them include the use of one or more spices. The spices are generally used in small quantities, but their flavors can be very intense. These great tasting spices are what make Indian cuisine so unforgettable.

Leave a Reply